Roy Rogers’ DON’T FENCE ME IN

Don’t Fence Me In

(Cole Porter)

Oh, give me land, lots of land, under starry skies above,
Don’t fence me in!
Let me ride through the wide open country that I love,
Don’t fence me in!
Let me be by myself in the evening breeze
And listen to the murmur of the cottonwood trees,
Send me off forever, but I ask you please,
Don’t fence me in!

Just turn me loose, let me straddle my old saddle
Underneath the western skies,
On my Cayuse, let me wander over yonder
‘Till I see the mountains rise.

I want to ride to the ridge where the west commences,
And gaze at the moon ’till I lose my senses,
And I can’t look at hovels and I can’t stand fences,
Don’t fence me in!

Oh, give me land, lots of land under starry skies above,
Don’t fence me in!
Let me ride through the wide open country that I love,
Don’t fence me in!
Let me be by myself in the evening breeze
And listen to the murmur of the cottonwood trees,
Send me off forever, but I ask you please,
Don’t fence me in!

Just turn me loose, let me straddle my old saddle
Underneath the western skies,
On my Cayuse, let me wander over yonder
‘Till I see the mountains rise.
Ba boo ba ba boo.

I want to ride to the ridge where the west commences
And gaze at the moon ’till I lose my senses
And I can’t look at hobbles, and I can’t stand fences,
Don’t fence me in.
No Poppa, don’t you fence me in!

Leave a Reply

